top of page
Search

Co3 Community Feature - Meet Kasey

Updated: Oct 6, 2021

There are people who never meet a stranger. That’s the way I would describe Kasey Warren. She’s only been involved with Co3 for less than a year but she’s one of the most invested and passionate people in the community. Her passion for community does not stop with Co3, she’s a dedicated educator in the TN public school system. Matter of fact, while I was interviewing her (via phone) for this article, she was volunteering at her school’s volleyball game (before it started) since she promised her students that she would watch their game.


Hailing from Covington, TN (outskirts of Memphis), a dedicated and passionate influencer for the next generation and an adventurer extraordinaire, meet Kasey.


Enjoy this open conversation with Kasey on her life and journey so far and the lessons she has learned.



 

How did you get connected with Co3?


I started going to Bethel in 2018 and was not walking in my Faith the way that I needed to be at that time. Then I decided that I needed to be more involved with my church family and Bethel was the place that I felt most drawn to. I knew that I needed a place where I could be held accountable.

I was in church one Sunday and they were talking about an event, I think it was the Hike and Pray event or maybe Co3 conversations. I just went on the page and signed up for an event. I was messaged a couple of times by people on the Co3 Leadership team and Daesha even called me one time and prayed for me.


I knew of Co3, but I never signed up because I was reluctant. I was in a relationship, but it wasn’t the right relationship, and I knew it. Once we (ex-boyfriend) split, I got more involved in the group, and it became a community that I was happy to be a part of.


 

Could you elaborate on when you said that you were reluctant because you were in a relationship?

Sure, I knew that if I went to the group and I had conversations with people I would feel more convicted about being in a wrong relationship.



 

Interesting, sort of like accountability. Would you say that accountability in a church community is beneficial to you?


Well accountability, it’s really knowing that you have people who are looking out for your best interest. It’s not about chastisement or anything like that. It’s about knowing that you have people who love Jesus and who want to see you obedient in your walk with Christ because they know that is the best life to live. And not because they’re judging you. I learned that Co3 was a place of non-judgmental people, people who were also trying to love Jesus and do well and be obedient in their Faith and their walk with Christ.


I had to change some other people in my life that I spent time with. I knew that if I didn’t connect with people who would hold me accountable that there was a chance of me being wayward more often than I should – I shouldn’t at all but there was a greater possibility.


It’s the thought in the back of your mind that somebody knows what’s best for you and if they wouldn’t approve of it or they don’t think it’s something good for you, then you probably shouldn’t do it.


Accountability looks different for everybody but for me, it looks like friends or acquaintances who are trying to do the same things that I’m doing.



 



Let’s switch gears to your season of being single, how do you feel about it overall?

I feel like it has allowed me to grow in my Faith – in my trust in God. My season of singleness has also brought a season of celibacy. I’m not married, and I’ve never been married so I should still be celibate. I never should have never been active and that’s just not what happened.


So, for me the season of singleness also brought me back to a life of celibacy. Without sexual encounters or an active lifestyle, there’s a lot more focus that a person has in this season. I’ve been able to say no to more things because of a greater focus, and I’ve also been able to hear God more clearly because I’ve been able to get more closer to Him. I had less sin standing in the way between me and Him. My guilt of what I was doing - and knowing I shouldn’t have been doing it was not there.


 

What do you think about the Christian dating pool right now?

(Chuckling) As a single woman in your 30s, you don’t have a lot of options in the first place, and if you are a Christian celibate single woman your pool narrows even greater. I’m like, “Ok God, I have Faith, but I also see what you’re working with out here and I don’t know. I don’t see it, but I’m glad that You have the vision.”


I’m a weird person but someone who is like too weird for me or too much or just not on the smarter spectrum… It’s not that my standards are too high, I believe I have God’s standards. I also know that I have to be equally yoked so when God finally unites me with my husband it’s going to be like, “I waited on you specifically, I didn’t give into not wanting to be alone and just settling. No, I waited specifically for you, and I know that this [marriage] is supposed to be and I’m going to be confident in saying yes at that altar.” That’s something I’m excited about.


Getting back to your question, the single Christian dating pool is very odd at times, it’s a struggle.


 

Let’s switch gears again to your career, what is the biggest career challenge that you face?

The biggest career challenge that I have faced has been my relationship with my boss in my previous position. There were times when I felt like we were on accord and then there were times when I was hurt and upset because someone else had painted a bad picture of me to her. Instead of coming to me and asking if it was true, that picture was just accepted.


A lot of things that happened there did not sit well with my soul. I want to be able to love where I am every day and that was a hindrance for me in my career while working there. I want to be a part of a family-type atmosphere and that was hard.


 

Overall, concerning your career, are you happy?

I know God’s called me to do what I do and there was a time that I doubted that calling. I was sitting in a service one day and the Pastor said, “Many could try to do what you’re anointed to do but they will never be able to do the thing that you’re anointed to do because the anointing is not on them it’s on you.”


So many people can try to walk this life that God has purposed me to walk but they might be doing it without anointing. I know what my anointing is, and I know what God has purposed me to do. I walk confidently in it, but I also must be obedient in it.


I attempt to do everything for the greater good and not do things out of spite – wrong is wrong and right is right. Even if someone decides they don’t like me, I know God’s got me. I know that He’s called me to do this, and I know where my heart is. I trust Him in all of it and I try to do my part in being obedient and just doing the right thing.


 

You are very passionate about your work, what do love the most about working with students?

For me, it is about being able to connect with them when other people can’t. I was anointed to do this, so I have a gift from God to be able to relate to them and help them to feel at peace and comfort in my presence. I’ve done nothing but be myself for that to happen. As I said, I know that I have this anointing on my life because of things like that.


I’m able to connect with students who never felt seen by someone or who felt like a burden. I can come along and have conversations with them and help them feel seen. I’m just being me but for them, it’s a life-changer. That’s what I love - To have kids who don’t know if somebody is for them to know that I’m for them. You might not always agree with me or be happy with me but at the end of every day, you will always know that I am for you. I also like to see their personal growth and teach them about life, and I’m happy to know that they’re learning academics along the way.


This isn’t just a job for me it’s a calling, people who feel like they’re in their calling and in their purpose, are highly connected to the work. When you do that, it brings about different results than just drawing a paycheck.


Thank you for checking out this article on Kasey. There are more features on the awesome people of the Co3 community to come!

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page