top of page
Search

Why Co3?



Oh, the woes of singleness! Didst thou bid us to walk this road alone, Lord?

Come one, come all – let us match thee up in matrimony for ONLY THERE will your purpose be found!

– Somebody, somewhere




Many Hot chicken dinners, Shelby bike rides, Radnor hikes, Belcourt Theatre showings, Art crawls, and Taqueria de Sol fish tacos ago – I moved to Nashville. Within the first month of moving, I met a stranger who invited me to Bethel World Outreach church (BWOC) – I went, and I loved it. That day, when I first attended Bethel, I was invited to a Life group that was meeting later in the week - I went and it was great. It was there, at the Life Group, that I was invited to a Co3 (known then as Bethel Singles Community) event, I hesitated...…

It took several other invites for me to finally... give it a try.


I do not remember every detail of my experience of that event. I did not hear a voice from Heaven about joining Bethel, moving to Nashville or who I will marry. I do not even remember if I ever saw again, the one person I did meet and bond with over not knowing anybody there either. I do remember how when I was looking for the place that Co3 was meeting, I barged into a room where the leaders of the ministry were praying beforehand, not realizing at the time that anyone was invited to do so. I can also recall how I left early because I did not know anyone, and I wanted to get to bed early. But the best memory and the one that stood out the most was how I left thinking “These people are serious about God.”



 


So, What is Co3 about?


Co3 is a ministry, but we like to emphasize that we are also a Community of single adults. Community is vital with single adults because most of our time is spent doing things alone: making decisions, eating meals, budgeting, etc. It takes intentionality to do build community, to connect (emphatically enters Co3).


There are three core values that we function by: We are committed to Christ, connected to each other and we serve our community:



 

Committed to Christ


The Co3 ministry does not see singleness as a problem to be solved. With that, we focus our commitment on what matters above all: Our commitment to Christ Jesus. The leaders of this community make it a priority to hear from God, follow His leadings on the directions we should take, and the focus we should have for each season.


One of the big focuses for this season is addressing the hard conversations that are often avoided. We have felt led to dig deep with Bible studies and have open conversations on the hard topics. If we were only committed to being a big group, getting single people married or networking, we probably would not be having these hard conversations. Since our Commitment is to Christ Jesus is priority, and He has led us to do so, these conversations are a must.


The hard conversations may be just for a season or they may continue but our commitment to Christ will always be at the foundation.



 

Connected to Others


BWOC has a host of life groups and ministries that will help you get connected to a spiritual family. Co3 is one of those ministries. Like Co3 each of the BWOC ministries help people who are in similar seasons walk together and do life together.


There are many verses that support the importance of friendships and spiritual family. While we do not force connection and friendships, we do try we try to create an environment where friendships, connection and spiritual family can develop.


To clarify, Co3 does not value connection just so that people will not be lonely. We encourage connecting with others because God values it and we all need it.



 

Community Service


2020 was DIFFERENT to say the least. Many churches, businesses, and people found themselves having to “figure things out” and adapt. Although 2020 was challenging, Co3 was still able to serve our community.


One of the most memorable moments for me in 2020 was still being able to serve with the Co3 community during the unprecedented time. The first community service project during the pandemic was the annual Mother’s Day Project organized by Carol Harris for the Nashville Rescue Mission. It was the first time I had entered “the light of day” since the pandemic and it was refreshing. There was fear and uncertainty trying to linger in the large socially distanced area but everyone knew the “show (service project) must go on.” It was the same for the Hispanic Foundation Food Drive at Plaza Mariachi. The safety requirements were in place and we were full of Faith knowing that we are still called to serve our community.


Although we did not organize “our own” service project for the community in 2020, we were determined to serve our community because we do not see it as a competition but a mission and commitment.



 


The Co3 Ministry has done nothing but impacted my life for better and greater. It has challenged me, sharpened me, comforted me, understood me, listened to me, and encouraged me to grow emotionally, creatively, and spiritually. So much so that I want that for others.


If you classify as a single adult, any adult that is not married, you are invited to join this community.



 

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page